top of page
  • Wenlin Qi

Process blog process

已更新:2020年4月9日

In the week two course, we had the first design challenge that was to design a wallet or purse in 90 minutes, which means this was a design sprint. Design sprints are an exciting new approach: they get people aligned around new ideas, create more ownership, get new ideas to prototype and launch more quickly and efficiently and with higher quality. Because the pressure created by the short time frame jump-starts your brain and your body's physiology to produce more of the molecules we need to create solutions. (Richard Banfield, C. Todd Lombardo, Trace Wax, 2015). It is a useful method to make the designs I think.




After we received the worksheet, which would guide us step by step to complete the whole design process, the challenge had begun. The first step was to show my ideas on the appearance of the wallet in a short time, so I needed to draw sketches of different types of wallets as much as possible.



Then there was an interview I needed to take for my partner who played the role of a customer in this challenge. I think this is a very important step. Interviews can be an effective design option for several kinds of research questions. Because it is subjective or internal to the people interviewed. While how effective they depend on characteristics of the populations studied, the types of questions to be asked, the forms of generalization required by your research question, and the formats and settings for eliciting answers to questions (W. Paul Vogt, Dianne C. Gardner, Lynne M. Haeffele, 2012). So I tried to think and ask many kinds of questions including the appearance and functions of this wallet, and her daily habits around the wallet.



With the help of the interview, I had an understanding of my partner's needs based on interviews, which made me have a clear idea of the wallet design, including its appearance, material, main and additional functions. 


Then I designed four wallets and made the final improvement on her favourite one after receiving her feedback. The final design included many elements that my partner needed. For example, many pockets were designed both inside and outside of the wallet for cards, and there is a slightly larger pocket in the inner layer. Because my partner only uses cards in daily life, and she has the habit of keeping receipts. And the pull- tab of the zipper was designed larger to hold my partner’s AT HOP key tag. 


In the end, we made the wallet real by using colour paper. This is an immersive design activity, and I really enjoyed this fun-filled process!





Reference

Richard Banfield, C. Todd Lombardo, Trace Wax (2015)

Design Sprint: A Practical Guidebook for Building Great Digital Products


W. Paul Vogt, Dianne C. Gardner, Lynne M. Haeffele (2012)

When to Use What Research Design






#DES100 Process

5 次查看0 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

Commenti


bottom of page