top of page
  • Wenlin Qi

Lamp Project



Target user - Bernice



Design statement

Bernice needs a table lamp that is mainly for studying. She wants the style to be simple. The part of the lamppost should be adjustable to change the height of the lamp. A switch can control the lights by touching. And for the colour, she prefers the white.



Design Brief

This is a lamp that has a simple style with a combination of geometry and lines.

The part of the lamppost that is near the base and bulb is settled, this design can not only stabilize the table lamp, but also make the whole look more elegant. While for the rest of the middle part of lamppost is used a flexible tube, which can be bent freely. So it is very convenient to adjust the angle and height of the lamp in this way. In addition, I designed a small cylinder as the axis on both sides of the bulb part to match the hole on the ring part, so that the bulb can be rolled freely to adjust the angle of light. The whole design uses circles and lines, and I only use white and wood colour to make it to be simple and natural. And the white part is made of rubber, and the wood part is a smooth shell.


Visualisation Prototype







Specification prototype


3D print Model



Dimensions





Material










How the lamp operates













Strengths of Prototype

One of the most obvious advantages is that it can effectively show the appearance, function and feeling of the product. Because for me, it's very difficult to draw sketches to meet these requirements. I also can choose different materials and lights to observe the visual effect, and users can directly see a real product in 3D to give better feedback.

Creating such a prototype is very suitable for this project because it can create a real object through 3D printing. With the dimensions and materials choices, the product can be more accurate, the function and features can also be shown.


Improvement

- I didn't make the circuit by using Tinkercad for the lamp, because I found that some of the requirements of the user for light adjustment were very difficult for me to complete when I wanted to implement it. I was not good at this field, and I didn't have confidence in this part. But I should do what I can to achieve, and also try to challenge myself to create new opportunities and success that may happen beyond my expectations.

- Although the user was satisfied with the final outcome, I think I can try to make it more elegant and creative in the design part. And when I created the prototype, the lines and other details can be more perfect to make the product more natural.

- Getting feedback from more different people, choosing and analyzing the appropriate and meaningful suggestions that can help me improve the product in all aspects. Because maybe there is someone who can find the potential problems I didn't find or provide better thoughts.




7 次查看0 則留言

最新文章

查看全部

Comments


bottom of page